What is shade of pale by procol harum?

"A Whiter Shade of Pale" is the debut single by the British rock band Procol Harum, released 12 May 1967. The single reached number 1 in the UK Singles Chart on 8 June 1967, and stayed there for 6 weeks. Without much promotion, it reached number 5 on the Billboard Hot 100 chart in the United States.