What is a bakugan?

Bakugan Battle Brawlers is a Japanese-Canadian anime adventure television series. The story centers on the lives of creatures called Bakugan and the "battle brawlers" who possess them. The Bakugan franchise itself is a joint venture between Sega Toys and Spin Master