Who invented the dictionary?

According to Wikipedia, the word "dictionary" was invented by an Englishman called John of Garland in 1220. it wasn't until 1755 that another Englishman named Samuel Johnson produced the first widespread and a more reliable version, which remained in used for over 150 years.