What makes a person happy?

Scientifically endorphins make a human being happy. Smiling, it has been proven that the act of smiling causes a boost in endorphins, resulting in happiness. Adopting a pet gives purpose; petting a cat causes happiness scientifically. Small acts of kindness also give purpose.