What is the mercy rule in baseball?

The 10 Run Rule, also known as the Mercy Rule, is when a game ends early due to one team being up by ten runs or more after a specified number of innings. Typically, baseball leagues will set the ten-run rule to take effect two innings prior to the end of a regulation baseball game