Why do cats bite their nails?

they are cleaning their claws.

---

Your cat's claws are made up of layers that grow from the inside out. Over time the outside layer can become worn and frayed. Consequently, your cat will chew or bite at their nails during grooming. Their aim is to remove the outer layer to expose the sharp claw underneath.