What year did terry fox run?

After 18 months and running over 5,000 kilometres (3,107 miles) to prepare, Terry started his run in St. John's, Newfoundland on April 12, 1980 with little fanfare. Although it was difficult to garner attention, enthusiasm soon grew, and the money collected along his route began to mount.