What's the definition of a shih tzu?

The Mandarin phrase “Shih Tzu” translates to little lion. The Shih Tzu was likely given this name because of its association with the Tibetan Buddhist God of Learning, who, according to legend, traveled with a small lion dog that could transform into a full-sized lion.