What is the difference between a jelly and a jam?

A jam is cooked and mashed fruit and sugar to provide a thickening agent, a jelly is made with clear juice, relying on "pectin" from apple skin, to make the juice jell - hence, "jelly". For example "Red Pepper Jelly", a clear ruby red, made with hot red peppers, eaten with cream cheese, on crackers

---

Jelly is made with strained fruit juice and contains no pieces of fruit while jam is made with mashed fruit. Preserves contain whole fruit or large pieces of fruit. Fruit spreads are 100% fruit with no sugar added. Fruit butters are made from slow cooked pureed fruit and are less sweet.