What is a hstorical fiction?

Historical fiction, is a literary genre in which the plot takes place in a setting located in the past. The novel, Gone with the Wind, by Margaret Mitchell is a good example.

---

Novels set in the past, depicting real events and with characters that are real historical people are called historical fiction. Another popular genre is "alternative histories" in which the writer explores a world in which events happened differently than in real life