What does an orca whale sound like?

Orcas make three kinds of sounds—calls, clicks, and whistles. Unlike people, they don’t open their mouths to make sounds. The sounds are produced by squeezing air between balloon-like sacs in their heads. For people, this would be like talking through our noses.

---

Orcas make three kinds of sounds—calls, clicks, and whistles. Unlike people, they don’t open their mouths to make sounds. The sounds are produced by squeezing air between balloon-like sacs in their heads. For people, this would be like talking through our noses.