When is the letter y. used as a vowel?

If the Y makes a hard Y sound (as in 'yes' or 'beyond'), Y is a consonant. If the Y makes a short I sound (as in 'myth' or 'gym'), Y is a vowel. If the Y makes a long I sound (as in 'my' or 'fly'), Y is a vowel. If the Y makes a long E sound (as in 'Germany' or 'hungry'), Y is a vowel.