Where in the body is the ilium?

The largest and uppermost bone of the hip, the ilium, also known as the iliac bone, is an essential part of the pelvic girdle. In adults, this fan-shaped bone is fused with two other bones, the ischium and pubis, to make the hip bone (often referred to as the coxal bone).