What's the difference between a waffle and a pancake?

The main difference between a waffle and a pancake is the way they are cooked one in a waffle iron, and the other in a pan, as its name suggests. Ingredients may vary in some recipes a well but most waffle recipes would make good pancakes and vice-versa.