Where does the phrase three sheets to the wind come from?

This expression is used to describe someone who is drunk to the point of being unable to stand up straight. The ‘sheets’ here refer to the sails of a windmill rather than bed linen. Operators used to add or remove the number of sails according to the strength of the wind.