Who are the bergens?

The Bergens are a species of creatures seen in Trolls, Trolls Holiday, and various related media. They used to be type of monsters that ate Trolls. They're currently led by King Gristle Jr. and Queen Bridget, and formerly led by King Gristle Sr..