What happened to the city of pompeii?

Pompeii was an ancient city located in what is now the commune of Pompei near the Naples region of Italy. Pompeii, along with Herculaneum and many villas in the surrounding area, was buried under 4 to 6 m (13 to 20 ft) of volcanic ash and pumice in the eruption of Mount Vesuvius in 79 AD.