When do babies learn how to sit?

At 4 mths, a baby typically can hold his/her head steady without support, and at 6 mths, he/she begins to sit with a little help. At 9 mths he/she sits well without support, and gets in and out of a sitting position but may require help. At 12 mths, he/she gets into the sitting position without help