Is caramel real?

Caramel is made from heating sugar then adding heavy cream and butter.

---

Yes. It's a sweet, chewy candy enjoyed by millions. It's also used as a coating for apples in the fall, and liquefied and used as flavoring for coffee or milkshakes, or poured on ice cream or apple pie.