What's the difference between sanitize and disinfect?

When you sanitize, you use a chemical sanitizer. With a sanitizer, you can only reduce the number of microbes to a safe level. When you disinfect, you use a chemical that can completely destroy all microbes. The chemical is called a disinfectant.