Where do fruit flies lay eggs?

Fruit flies All that they require is a moist area of fermenting stuff. That stuff can be ripened fruits or vegetables, as well as drains, garbage disposals, empty bottles and cans, trash bags, or cleaning rags and mops. flies lay their eggs — up to 500 at a time — on these moist surfaces.