What happens if you leave baking soda out of a recipe?

If you leave baking soda out of a recipe, there are chances that it will not rise.

---

Baking soda is a chemical agent that helps baked goods rise. When it interacts with buttermilk, lemon or vinegar, for example, the bubbles incorporate air into a cake and make it taller and lighter. If you leave the baking soda out of the recipe, the baked goods will be heavier and denser.