What's the difference between a labyrinth and a maze?

The main difference between a maze and a labyrinth is that a maze has many different branching paths that can be taken, whereas a labyrinth has only one possible route. A maze is a puzzle to be solved, whereas a labyrinth can be viewed as a spiritual or meditative