Do electric cars have engines?

Electric cars are moved by electric motor(s). Most electric cars use a battery to store electrical energy. That energy is used to power the car. Electric cars may have one, two, three, or even four motors. The electric motors used the stored energy very efficiently.

---

No they do not. Hybrid Vehicles have a small engine but an Electric car is solely powered by an Electric Motor in conjunction with batteries.