What are the four main food groups?

The original 4 basic food groups were milk, meat, fruit and vegetables, and bread and cereals. These were replaced in 1992 by the food pyramid, which has 6 classifications and includes recommended servings of each food group, which previous guides did not.

---

Fruits and Vegetables, Meats and Proteins, Dairy, and Grains make up the four main food groups.