How long do walnuts stay fresh?

From stilltasty.com. Properly stored, shelled walnuts will keep well for about 2 to 4 weeks at normal room temperature. To extend the shelf life of shelled walnuts, refrigerate them; place walnuts in a sealed airtight container or place original package in a resealable heavy-duty freezer bag.