What do brown beetles eat?

Most beetles eat plant parts, either leaves or seeds or fruit or wood. Many are predators on other small animals. Some eat fungus, and there are a bunch of species that eat dung. However, there are more than 300,000 identified species of beetles, and a lot of them are brown.