What's the difference between a flapjack and a pancake?

That depends where you come from, Europe , the UK or USA/Canada. In USA / Canada flapjacks and pancakes are the same item. In the UK a Flapjack is tray baked rolled oats. In Europe a pancake is made thinner than USA / Canada, no baking powder is used in it that makes it rise and fluffy elsewhere.