How bad was randy travis's stroke?

In July, 2013, Randy Travis suffered a stroke, which affected the entire central region of his left brain. Doctors suspected that a blood clot had formed in his heart and traveled to his brain, causing the trauma. One of Randy’s biggest obstacles has been trying to get back his ability to speak.