How is black licorice made?

Real licorice starts from a paste made from the root of the licorice plant. Sugar, flour, flavors and colors are added. The thick slurry is cooked then extruded into the desired shapes and cut to length. The candy is allowed to cool then is packaged for distribution to licorice fans the world over