What is katzu?

Japanese katsu, a fried meat cutlet, is the epitome of Japanese comfort food. ... The term "katsu" encompasses a wide variety of cutlets including chicken, pork, and beef. These three varieties each have their own names in Japanese and often have specialty restaurants dedicated to each variety