Who invented the abacus?

The abacus has been used since ancient times in many cultures.

---

The Abacus most common today, was developed in China around 2000 B.C.. Archeology shows evidence of Abacus-like devices from ancient Mesopotamia around 2700 B.C.. Different styles of Abacus have developed over the years but the inventor is still a mystery.