What is a mug bean?

Mung bean (Vigna radiata) is a plant species of Fabaceae which is also known as green gram

---

The mung bean is often called green gram or golden gram and is cultivated in East, Southeast and South Asia. It is used as an ingredient in both savoury and sweet dishes.