What was the first film ever made?

Roundhay Garden Scene (1888) The earliest surviving motion-picture is called Roundhay Garden Scene. It’s a short film directed by French inventor Louis Le Prince. Even though it’s just 2.11 seconds long, it is technically a movie. According to the Guinness Book of Records.