How do you calm a dog down?

Put your hand on there shoulder like a hug. Keep there. Be gentle, speak firmly. Use one word command such as “down” or “calm”. Use your voice if not near enough to touch dog. Say their name and “down”. Never scream at them. The goal is to stop and be calm. They go by our level of excitement.