How is string cheese made?

String cheese today is made simply by heating fresh mozzarella to 140 degrees Fahrenheit, a temperature just hot enough to realign the milk proteins naturally found in cheese. When the cheese is heated and stretched, the proteins line up, creating that signature string-like texture.