Who is the spanish artist suspected of stealing the mona lisa?

The Mona Lisa was stolen from the Louvre on Aug. 21, 1911. French authorities questioned Spanish artist Pablo Picasso. But it was actually stolen by an Italian & self-declared artist named Vincenzo Peruggia, who had helped install the glass case surrounding the painting and thus knew its weaknesses.