What is natural gas composed of?

Natural gas is a hydrocarbon, and is almost 100% methane. The chemical formula for this gas is CH4, which means that each molecule contains one carbon atom and 4 hydrogen atoms. A foul-smelling gas called "mercaptan" is added to the methane to give a bad smell that can indicate a leak.