Why are cats so tired?

Why are cats so tired? Wild cats need to sleep in order to conserve their energy to hunt and chase their next meal. Although our house cats may not need to hunt, the instinct to sleep and prepare for the hunt carries on. Cats are nocturnal and are active while you are asleep.

---

Cats are tired or sleep a lot because they have an ancestral instinct to conserve energy for hunting. They are awake during low-light times of the day, which means they are most active while we sleep. Older cats who may have conditions like arthritis and diabetes may also sleep more.