What does in vitro diagnostic use mean?

The phrase "in vitro" means outside the living body & in an artificial environment, like a petri dish or test tube. Diagnosis is the identification of the nature of an illness or other problem by examining the symptoms. So this would be diagnosing something by studying cells or tissues in the lab.