Can a mountain turn into a volcano?

A mountain is very unlikely to turn into a volcano. Those mountains, are created by volcanoes! After those volcanoes erupt, scientists say that it will be very unlikely for those retired volcanoes, to erupt again. The rock that is formed after the volcano has erupted, is called basalt.