What is considered a fruit?

A fruit is scientifically defined as the mature ovary of a flowering plant that is edible. The fruit is the ovary. Some fruits produce only one seed, like an avocados and cherries. Other fruits produce hundreds of seeds, like a tomato or banana

---

From a horticultural definition standpoint, fruit is defined as the mature ovary of a flowering plant that is edible From a culinary definition standpoint this varies, with some such as tomatoes and avocado being culinary vegetables, but botanical fruits. This comes down to structure and sugar level