What is the minecraft one point seventeen update?

The 1.17 update (the first part of the Caves & Cliffs) is live now and introduces new creatures, blocks, and various other bits and pieces. The 1.18 (part 2) will arrive later in 2021 and will give us the new biomes and overhauled terrain generation.