What does bad omen mean in minecraft?

Bad omen is acquired by killing a pillager captan witch is a pillager with a specific banner on its head, when you come near a village a raid will start. A raid is when pillagers, ravagers and a few more mobs will attack that village. The bigger the omen value the harder the fight will be