What does the middle pedal do on a piano?

The middle, or sostenuto, pedal functions as a selective damper. Essentially, it sustains only the notes that are depressed when the pedal is activated. When you use this pedal the sostenuto rod holds up only those dampers that have been raised by their keys, any dampers at rest remain unaffected.