Why do monkeys like bananas?

Monkeys probably don't know much about nutrition, but they know they love bananas. Why? It's probably because bananas tend to grow in the hot, tropical areas where monkeys usually live. They're a convenient source of food that happens to taste great and provide a lot of nutrients in a small package.