What is four hundred dollars plus tax?

Tax rates vary by location. To calculate a price plus tax, divide the tax percentage by 100, multiply by the price, then add the price . For example, if the tax rate is 5 percent, multiply point zero 5 times 400 to get 20, then add 400 to get 420. This is the price plus tax.