How why do people fart?

Gas can be found throughout the digestive tract, including the stomach, small intestine, colon, and rectum. We fart because of the buildup of gas in our bodies, typically due to: Swallowed air: We swallow air throughout the day, including from carbonated beverages or taking in air as we chew