Why is cauliflower called cauliflower?

The word cauliflower derives from the Latin words caulis (cabbage) and flōs (flower), reflecting its membership of the cabbage family. In the 18th century, both broccoli and cauliflower were introduced to Northern Europe, particularly England and France.