How do you spaceships land?

A parachute is deployed from the back to stop the orbiter. The parachute and the speed brake on the tail increase the drag on the orbiter. The orbiter stops midway to three-quarters of the way down the runway. After landing, the crew goes through the shutdown procedures to power down the spacecraft.